Keep McMinn Beautiful

  A Keep America Beautiful Affiliate

For those of you not familiar with Keep McMinn Beautiful, here is a little history:

We were originally chartered in April 1989 as the McMinn County Clean Commission.

This was a county wide effort to promote public interest in the general improvement of the environment in the cities of Athens, Etowah, Calhoun, Englewood, Niota and McMinn County.

This effort was spearheaded by Harold “Prof” Powers, Clarence “Skip” Streetman and Howard Whitaker.

In 1999, the name was officially changed to Keep McMinn Beautiful, became a certified affiliate of Keep America Beautiful and a member of Keep Tennessee Beautiful.  Board members are appointed by each city council or commission with representation from all McMinn County.

Keep McMinn Beautiful is a non-profit government entity. The majority of our funding comes from the memberships and sponsorships of our various events such as the Wetlands Night Out and the Tennessee Wetlands Festival. We do receive some funds from the TDOT Litter Grant which is highly restrictive and a Storm Water Education grant. Our proposed operating budget for 2019-2020 is $28,150.

Keep McMinn Beautiful’s flagship programs include the Great American Clean-up in April, the Tennessee Wetlands Festival in May, Trash Bash- Industrial Challenge in October, Household Hazardous Waste Event in October, Boxing Day in December and ongoing education programs.

KMB is available to present programs to your clubs, civic, church, school groups and scout programs. KMB will also provide tours of the Earth Shelter Building at the Athens Recycle center and tours of the Wetlands at E G Fisher Library.

KMB board members include:

Stephanie Myers – Executive Director 

Ben Burchfield (Athens) - Chairman

Kara Knecht (Athens) - Vice Chair

Mark Cochran (McMinn Co.) - Treasurer

Katie Brady (Calhoun)  - Secretary

Luke Shepard - Athens

Yvonne Raper – Athens

Meredith Willson - Athens

Carolyn Young - Athens

Alan Jones – Englewood

April Johnston – McMinn County

Steve Keylor - McMinn County

Ann Montogmery - McMinn county

Rob Preston - McMinn County


1 vacancy


1 vacancy


1 vacancy

Ex-Officio Members:

Mayors of Athens, Etowah, Englewood, Calhoun,

Niota and McMinn County

Athens Chamber President

Etowah Chamber President

Currently there are several positions open on the board. If you have an interest in serving, please contact us at and we will send you an application form which when returned goes to the proper council or commission for approval.